Paint - Saving the paint on a 1948 Chrysler

Dewey

My 48 Chrysler has original paint but it’s not pristine. I’m thinking I would like to keep the original but could use suggestions on preserving it. I think clear coat is used sometime but I haven’t seen clear coat hold up for extended periods. I even saw people talking about using boiled linseed oil. Anyone have experience or suggestions as to stop the minimal surface rust and keep the patina? Thanks 

How about "Saving the paint on a 48 Chrysler"

I'm no expert but would think the idea would be, to carefully polish it by hand then give it 3 or 4 coats of wax, and renew the wax every 6 months or 1 year. Would like to hear the real experts opinions.

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

No real expert, but I would think to stay away from a clear coat. Not sure if it will adhere properly to the old paint. I would think just a good wax would do the trick, may not make it shiny but would at least put a coat of something over it (thinking out loud-unless you cant get it wiped off and it leaves a dry white residue).

• Like 3

Please don't be tempted by clear coating or even a mechanical buffing (buffing wheel). A gentle hand buffing using the finest compound available at an automotive paint store, would be about as harshly as I would treat your original paint. Your paint after 70 years is going to be very thin. Even a judicious hand rub could rub through the original paint. This is one of those cases that the least amount of effort maybe what's best for the car. 

• Like 4

I have noticed there are some areas that have rust starting and the roof has a good amount of surface rust. I may end up having to have it painted professionally. I just don’t see how to remove the rust areas without sanding it thoroughly and applying rust stop. The original paint is thin and I have found small areas of filler. So my thinking is there were repairs made at some point in time. Thank you

27 minutes ago, Dewey said: