Proper Tire Inflation

Phillip Cole

That is the correct textbook answer.

That is the same as the specifications for a 1937. If your car handles anything like my 1937, you will find that the original factory recommendation does not really seem to work that well with modern reproduction tires being driven exclusively on pavement. I am not an expert but I have personally had better results with 30 psi on both the front and rear tires.

My Coker radial tires that LOOK LIKE old bias tires all look like they need air with 32 psi in them. Even if I put 36 in them they don't ever seem to round out like the old bias tires. I wish I would have bought new bias tires instead of what I have but to late now. I have no complaints about the ride or handling just that they always look like they need air. The picture in my avatar still had the original bias tires so they look fine.

Edited by LAS VEGAS DAVE (see edit history)

Restorer32,

Clarification: When in doubt, I always read the rated tire pressure on the tires and use that pressure.

I use the rated tire pressure for my older cars when I lack of information in the car manuals or when original tire types are no longer available.  I have experienced stem shear when my 1912 Buick tires were under inflated, so I prefer to run on the high side. The following is from the Tire Rack website:

Maximum Inflation Pressure

A tire's maximum inflation pressure is the highest "cold" inflation pressure that the tire is designed to contain. However the tire's maximum inflation pressure should only be used when called for on the vehicle's tire placard or in the vehicle's owners manual. It is also important to remember that the vehicle's recommended tire inflation pressure is always to be measured and set when the tire is "cold." Cold conditions are defined as early in the morning before the day's ambient temperature, sun's radiant heat or the heat generated while driving have caused the tire pressure to temporarily increase.