What makes up a Phaeton?

buicknewbee

As some of you know I am somewhat new to the buick crowd and have many questions that go like this. I have noticed that several Buicks have spare tire holders on the front fenders, and have seen other car makes of the past with the same tire holders with the last part of the model name being Phaeton. I have just assumed that the spare tire holders must designate them with that last model name from what I have seen. However just recently I have seen a Buick for sale with the last part of the model saying phaeton, but it does not have the spare tires. Can someone explain this to me please.

Thanks!

Guest wildcat62

Welcome buicknewbee! :)

Growing up with a pop in the Classic Car Club of America, I've asked this question myself before. Here is what I recall.

A Phaeton is a 4 door open touring car. (think no roll up windows) As opposed to a Roadster, which has two doors.

So the difference is not sidemounts (spare tires), but instead doors. Hope that helps.

Well what Buick calls a "phaeton", and actual automotive definitions of a "phaeton" vary somewhat. Buick called my four door "convertible sedan" a Phaeton, but if I am not mistaken the actual definition of a phaeton would be a four door convertible touring car type with side curtains. The difference being the side windows versus side curtains.

I'm sure there will be others that comment on this somewhat controversial nomenclature