Insurance

Martin Redmond

I am a UK resident and have driven my  UK registered 1938 Morris 25  registered car around the world and from Argentina to Mexico. I want to drive the car in the United States but cannot find an insurance  company to accept me/my car. I have a clean licence and claims record. I have approached all the usual names Hagerty, Grundy,Progressive etc. who do not want a single car such as this on their books. Does any forum reader know of a patient broker,agent or company who would be willing to look at my case? I have been searching for weeks without success and would be grateful if anybody has a way through this for me.

Most insurance companies do not insure you when driving out of the country.  The biggest exception is that many here allow Canada.

To the original poster, I am doubtful you will find a carrier that will do this unless you can provide an American address where you live and will be keeping your car.

Edited by 39BuickEight (see edit history)

Thank you to all those who responded to me query. Believe me - UK insurers will not extend to US .It may well be that US insurers will extend cover to those of you driving abroad,but perhaps not with your American registered car.

There appears to be no way round this issue and so I will join many Brits who have wanted to drive their cars in your lovely country but cannot do so.Sad but it just cannot be done.

Here's an alternative on a smaller scale:

Join AACA if you haven't already.

Make friends with an American who is active on AACA Tours.

After you get to know him, join him on an AACA tour.

He can drive, you and your wife can ride along.  

Contribute to his cost.  You'll spend 5 days in one

section of America, enjoying the sights, and getting to 

know more AACA members here.

On 8/12/2018 at 7:21 AM, Martin Redmond said:

I am a UK resident and have driven my  UK registered 1938 Morris 25  registered car around the world and from Argentina to Mexico.