1940 Pontiac Deluxe 6 oil under steering wheel

I took my car out for a short spin and found a fair amount of motor oil on the floorboard beneath the dash just to the right of the steering wheel. I'm thinking it's the oil pressure gauge. Anything I should look for? I'm pretty new to this.

Oh the opportunity for smart atz responses.  Tempting, tempting.  

What type of feed goes to the oil pressure gauge?  Guessing its a small diameter copper or steel tube, with a flare, or nut & ferrule connection.  If you are lucky, the connection is loose at the gauge and just needs to be snugged down.  More likely, the tube has cracked which will require replacement of some or all of it.  

Find the back of the gauge, then check the connection.  Clean everything up, start the car, and watch to see what leaks.  Should be enough room to get your head under the dash.  

Good luck.  

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

I had this problem on my 48 DeSoto.  I couldn't figure out what was wrong until someone told me that some previous mechanic might have replaced the oil pressure line with a brake line.  I checked the line going into the oil gauge and sure enough, it was a brake line!  The oil gauge uses a pipe fitting type of connection, not a brake line.  But finding the correct fitting was practically impossible.  Not an O'Reillys or Rock Auto type item.  NAPA either!  I had to get another one from a parts car!

• Like 1

The Pontiac most likely has a "threaded sleeve" connection to the gauge on steel Bundy tubing. I don't believe there should be any rubber line under the dash at all. "Threaded sleeve" fittings are uncommon today, but available at Blackhawk Supply, and maybe a few other places online. I doubt you would find them at an auto parts store. Steel Bundy tubing in that size is completely extinct in the North America. If it needs replacing, and you are in the US, you'll have to use copper refrigeration tubing. It works fine.