‘65 cold start with high idle problem

Greaseball

My ‘65 401 engine has a cold start problem that I cannot find a fix for.  Hoping you guys can help me out.

The problem is after the car has started, the carb will not stay on high idle.  The choke appears to be operating correctly, but the carb keeps coming off the high idle cam as if it’s already warmed up (which definitely it isn’t!).

When the engine is cold and before it’s started, the carb sets itself up correctly with a tap of the accelerator pedal: the choke blade covers the primaries and the idle cam sits up in the high idle position.  After the car starts, it drops off the high idle position of the cam.  I can’t figure out why it does this.  Any help?

Dan

BTW I’m by no means an expert, and I’m sure they will contribute …but in meantime …

Do you mean a) drops off immediately after starting car, choke plate uncovers primaries and car stalls immediately?

Or b) seems/appears to come off cam quicker than it should , and car eventually stalls?

If it’s a) maybe there’s something wrong with your choke coil as it’s that tension which keeps choke plate in position and over time relaxes and let’s  cam progressively drop off high idle ?

if b) I had that happen and I noticed my dash pot wasn’t engaging when idle cam came off high idle, and therefore put the issue down to some kind vacuum issue which dashpot prevents..:.so I adjusted dashpot position and all ok

now that I’m writing maybe my problem   was simply an idle speed issue ? Too low when high idle cam came off , hence stalling? Anyway, adjusting dashpot ‘worked’ 😀

Have you got a manual? when I got my 65 it had been sitting for years and choke didn’t work at all etc etc…and I was a novice to mechanics …I found this forum a great help but I also had the manual which explained the mysterious workings of a Carter AFB ….and between the two got it sorted….

good luck

kev (London, England )

10 hours ago, Greaseball said: