1947 Chrysler Electrical

Caddy60

I have been working on trying to get spark on my Chrylser, I Have had many responses from members and followed up but so far no spark.  One of the members had mentioned it could be the Ignition switch.  I have no knowledge how to test if the switch is actually turning on the ignition.  There is 6 Volts showing at the back of the switch & when I do turn the key I can push the starter button and the engine turns over.  Is it possible that the switch allows the engine to turn over but does not give power to the ignition system??  I notice when I turn on the key there is zero movement on the ammeter.  If I pull the light switch the ammeter  moves to the discharge side, even when the starter is turning the engine over there is no movement of the ammeter.

Bruce Watson

Hello again Bruce.  Just wanted to tell you my 1951 Pontiac with push button start would turn the engine over with the key in the OFF position when the button was pushed.  Turning the key to ON connects battery voltage to the coil so the engine can start.  Perhaps it’s time to have a pro look at your problem.  Good luck!

Edited by TerryB (see edit history)

Check to see if you have voltage on the NEG(-) side of the coil. That voltage comes from the ignition switch and the transmission relay mounted on the DS inner fender in the diagram. You can run a wire directly from the NEG side of the battery (if the car is still POS ground) to the NEG(-) side of the coil and then see if you get spark. But don't leave it connected too long.

Also, when you turn the key ON and OFF you should hear a "click" sound coming from that relay. 

Ok. a bit of leading "by the hand" on this, Can you confirm to us using a test lamp or meter that you have voltage on the neg side of the coil, as Joe said.

If none, then suspect switch.

If there is voltage there your problem is likely in the distributor.  A picture of it with the cap off would be a great help. 

• 2 weeks later...