New wheel cylinders or resleeve ?

FLYER15015

Hi All,

I am getting ready to rebuild the brake system on my 1931 Chrysler Imperial (CG?).

I can have the wheels and master cylinder re-sleeved  @ Karp's in California, as they did a fine job on my '40 Buick series 90, with their 304 stainless inserts.

OR can I find new replacements for this old of a car ?

Do not want to buy NOS and get 87 year old rubber components.

I am just learning about the old girl and need your advise regarding sourcing and costs.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Mike in Colorado

You can replace the old rubber parts cheaply for a NOS cylinder, should you find a cylinder. I would.

The SS sleeved cylinder will be more of a problem for galvanic corrosion of the aluminium piston if you don't use the car for long periods. This is because SS and aluminium are further apart on the galvanic series than steel and aluminium. Of course this is not a problem if you are using DOT 5 (silicon) brake fluid, which doesn't absorb moisture like DOT 3, 4 and 5.1 do. (DOT 5.1 absorbs least moisture of these three.)

When the aluminium piston corrodes, it jams in the cylinder. The result is that the first time you apply the brakes, they stay on. The return spring is not strong enough to overcome the jamming of the piston.

• Like 1