What make of car?

Gentlemen,

At a party this weekend I was talking to a guy, who mentioned that he had been trying to determine the make a model of the car that went down with the famous Tacoma Narrows bridge (Gallopin Gertie). Without a doubt I have known what it was, but today it would just be a guess. Now I'll let the experts have a shot at it.-Bill

When I was an Engrineering student at LSU in 1969, I remember this video being played to show us how not paying attention to harmonics in design could be fatal  I vaguely remember all the courses I needed to be an Engrineer (due to studying distilled and brewed spirits as a minor), but this are one.

I never figured out the harmonics deal, thought that was something you played, like Dylan....

Fascinating now, fascinating then.....

2 hours ago, trimacar said:

When I was an Engrineering student at LSU in 1969, I remember this video being played to show us how not paying attention to harmonics in design could be fatal  I vaguely remember all the courses I needed to be an Engrineer (due to studying distilled and brewed spirits as a minor), but this are one.

I never figured out the harmonics deal, thought that was something you played, like Dylan....

My university was responsible for leading the investigation to the westgate bridge collapse during construction that killed 35 workers, they saved the pieces after the royal commission and placed them around the engineering buildings to remind graduates what the price of failure is.

Based on the shape and splits of the rear window, and the shape of the trunk, I vote for a 1938 Cadillac Series 65, 75, or 90, probably the 132" wheelbase Series 65 (the 75 V8 and 90 V16 shared a 141.3-inch wheelbase).  In 1939 the license plate and its lamp were moved to the center of the trunk--and there was no longer a Series 65.

10 hours ago, hidden_hunter said: