Electronic Voltage Regulator

Beemon

Does such a thing exist? I was asking some questions about voltage regulators on some 60s and 70s+ cars and the 70s+ cars were all mostly transistorized while the mid 60s were still partially mechanical, like the 50s and prior. The reason I ask is because last night, the generator stopped charging. I had my girlfriend in the car watching the charge indicator while I went and checked every connection in the charging system... the car only started charging after I hit the voltage regulator with a screw driver handle. This regulator is only a year old now and unfortunately in my ignorance I did not keep the original unit (it had an adjusting knob on it, too. :( ) I don't think it would be difficult to put the electronics inside the housing of a vintage voltage regulator, but I'm not very good with electronics - my teaching is limited to capacitors and resistors. I always wondered why no one has done it commercially, but then I guess that would be an excuse not to sell a cheaply made $100 regulator...

I have never had the need to do that, but back in the early 1980's I put a Buick 350 drive train into a '60 Ford pickup using an internally regulated GM alternator. All I needed was a switched wire from the ignition and a jumper between the two plug posts. Seems like one of those internal regulators could be externally mounted on a board and a post for a #10 wire to do the same thing; shouldn't be hard to do.

The $100 dollar regulator comment is making me smile. My Son is a big conspiracy fan. I tell him conspiracy theories give far too much credit to the supposed conspirators.

Bernie

• Like 1

22 minutes ago, 60FlatTop said:

The $100 dollar regulator comment is making me smile. My Son is a big conspiracy fan. I tell him conspiracy theories give far too much credit to the supposed conspirators.

Bernie

Well there is some truth to it, I remember the old one (it was trashed) weighed much more than the new one I got from Kanter.