Year of Manufacture Plates- Help needed

Guest pehernan

Guest pehernan

Hello,

I’m new to the antique cars world, but deeply in love with it. I bought my 1936 Plymouth on last November and just started the restoration. I would try to take it back to its original condition, including the year of manufacturing plates. Yes!!!

I found a beautiful preserved pair on Ebay, but the problem is that I live in New Jersey and here are illegal, even to display it.

I checked online and many states allow them, but no my. I research the possibility of collect signatures to make a petition, but our State don’t have Direct Democracy (means that is really hard to bring a proposal from the people up)

I need your guidance, especially if anybody knows how to push Motor Vehicle to consider the use of the YOM plates.

Guest pehernan

Thank you,

I'm going to contact my local AACA chapter, because I started asking to car owners in a few shows this year and everybody showed interest, but it feels that nobody has try to change the law. 

I would suggest that  when you contact others you urge that YOM plates be restricted to antique cars that maintain an original drivetrain. It ruffles feathers when a full blown hotrod is running YOM plates, e.g. a model A Ford with a 350 CI crate engine! 

Guest pehernan

Hi Franklin,

you got an excellent point! I'm not sure yet of how the process is, but I will be careful to be specific about; "just for original cars".

Thanks again

The reason that you see YOM plates on hot rods is so the police can tell what it is.

If a Model A looks like a Model A then the cop will know that it is a Model A as he probably doesn't recognize it as a 2015 Ford or a 2015 assembled.

Guest pehernan

James,

beautiful car, actually the 1955 roadmaster was my first target when I started looking for my car, but my wife steered me to the thirthies and I end with a 1936 Plymouth. Who knows, maybe down the road I would have a beauty like yours

James,