Do Brake Linings and Mounting Hardware matter?

Beemon

Since I got my front Roadmaster brakes, it's been more trouble than it's worth. For starters, I had the driver side shoes expand at 65 MPH on the highway and cause rough shuddering until I was able to pull over and expand the shoes out. I had originally replaced the front shoes that came with the backing plates with some shoes from NAPA that are their Ultra Premium brand. They also had their standard Proformer brand, which is what I had run before with the 12x2.25 shoes. The issue I've come across now is that the original 12x2.25 shoes I had on the car have a different cut for the friction material as the 12x2.5 Ultra Premium stuff and the 12x2.5 Proformer stuff is also different from the other two. On top of this, I compared my old 12x2.25 shoes to new 12x2.25 shoes and they also had a different friction cut pattern. All the shoe sets were different from each other. The TS197 number (12x2.25 Proformer) also has a different brake shoe metal footprint than the TS127 (12x2.5 Proformer), which is the same as the Ultra Premium stuff.

My question is, does this all matter? Thickness of friction material, the way it's cut and bonded, and the mounting bracket under the shoe? This is really frustrating me because in anticipation to this I haven't heard of anyone else having issues and there's plenty of Roadmasters out there. I'm really thinking these subtle differences will screw with the triangulation. The master parts book at the local NAPA, the 40 year old one, even says that on 52-56 Buick Roadmasters, to give them the 12x2.25 shoes up front, despite the drums being 12x2.5.

Pictures included:

17800076_10155944958540830_2786070295093

The paint on the outside of the drum cooked clean off.

17522585_10155944958535830_3121089806655

NAPA Ultra Premium

17523477_10155944957860830_8609233702613

NAPA 12x2.25 Proformer

17523212_10155944958195830_1300728362269

12x2.5 shoes that came with the backing plates