Need help

Have a question I'm doing a repaint and trying to do very little sanding . The car doesn't need and body work the car was repainted once before and did a horrible job. I'm curious to see what would be easier I started off with 320grit than gonna go back over it with 600. My question is can I just wet sand it with 600? Will the paint stick I'm a rookie here and don't need no f ups thanks

A lot depends on the quality of the paint used on the previous job. Cheap paint may react with the new paint. When I was painting cars years ago, on a job like that I would go over the car with an orbital sander and 320 then give it 2 thin wet coats of lacquer primer surfacer. Sand the primer by hand with 120 give it 2 more coats and sand with 320 then paint with enamel. Got some very presentable jobs that way on some fairly rough cars. But the paint business has changed a lot since then.

As to whether the paint will stick it should stick fine on a 320 sanded surface.

• Like 1

I final sanded my primer with 320 grit. I should have used 400 grit as you can see some faint scratches in the paint.Live and learn.

The very little sanding method isn't what you want.As stated by others,preparation is everything.If you want a quality job,don't short cut anything. Paint is much too expensive to have a second rate paint job because you wanted to get out of some work.

• Like 2

If the surface is perfect, you can wet sand with 600 and repaint. But I do mean PERFECT. And wet sanding a whole perfect car does not take that long. We used to wet sand a whole car with 600 and re-clear to make a show car shine.

If the surface is almost perfect, then gray Scotchbrite pad (sort of green, but I'm speaking of the finer than maroon stuff!) with Comet or similar scouring powder. No kidding, it was a Sikkens repaint method back in the 90s.

Most cars need something more than the two methods above due to chips at least. Those need to be sanded out and spot primed.