1964 Riviera ST400 Speedometer driven gear

RiVin

I have a 1964 Riviera that I've been working on for 8 months.  It's all original matching numbers, 70k miles.  I'm down to minutia now.  This forum has helped me numerous times on varied topics.  But not this time....so far.  I'm trying to find out what the tooth count is on the original factory ST400 speedometer driven gear.  I have the 3.07 rear axle ratio and run original size tires being 7.10 x 15.  I have the 1964 chassis service manual, but it does not cover this, at least not that I could find.  Please help.  If possible I would appreciate seeing a chart out of a parts manual that shows what driven gears go with certain rear axle ratios and tire sizes.  But just knowing what came originally in this Riv would get me moving in the right direction. Thanks so much in advance.

Use this to calculate what should be in the car. You should be able to pull the bullet out after removing the cable and count the number of teeth on the shaft. It should match the color in the chart.

https://www.tciauto.com/speedometer-gear-calculator#2004R

EBay lists these parts all the time. FYI make sure the shaft is the same length or a little longer as the one you pull out. Also make sure the seal is seated all the way in the bullet if you replace the seal/bullet. 

Ray

Edited by BulldogDriver (see edit history)
  • Like 1

3 hours ago, 1965rivgs said:

The information you are seeking appears in the factory service bulletins. I don't have access to them at this time but will in early October. If you havnt found the info by then send me a PM.

Tom

All the Buick parts manual has is a listing of the drive and driven gear part numbers and colors.  No listing of axle ratios and tire sizes, in a chart as other divisions have done.  I'll look in another resource . . .

NTX5467

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1