Architecture and Automobiles

As an architect, I routinely come across interesting pictures of well known buildings under construction and occasionally with some interesting cars included. This one showed up on FB recently, the Frank Lloyd Wright designed Guggenheim Museum in NYC, begun in 1956 and completed in 1959. The spiraling design and bold concrete surfaces were quite a change in aesthetics for the time, with the overall theme dating to a few years even earlier (mid-late 40's). This photo also has some interesting cars, not the normal big three stuff. I'm sure K31 can pin them all down. 

Guggenheim Museum NY.jpg

• Like 3

1 hour ago, keiser31 said:

Left to right: 1955 Rambler. 1953-54 Rambler. 1958 Chevy behind the red Rambler and a Marathon cab.

nope; '55 Rambler has a coarser eggcrate grille; car in the back has a single headlight on each fender (blow up the photo on your screen if your laptop can do that)

• Like 1

No, that car in the background is a 1958 Chevrolet!!!!!!!

We owned one and I know exactly what it looks like. Sure I was 4 to 12 years old when we owned it, but those are the years youngsters look at the family car very closely!

I also currently own a 1957 Oldsmobile 98 and that isn't one.;)

Wheelcovers are the giveaway if nothing else.

Edited by Frank DuVal (see edit history)
  • Like 1

I think Jim S is correct on identity of black Rambler as a 1959/60 Rambler American Sport, a very fine looking car, with the finer mesh grill. Very clean European style when you consider for a moment what the big 3 were offering. Photo likely dates to late 1958 or early 1959, so likely a '59 model, and brand new. 

1959-60 rambler American Sport.webp

• Like 2

2 hours ago, Frank DuVal said:

No, that car in the background is a 1958 Chevrolet!!!!!!!

We owned one and I know exactly what it looks like. Sure I was 4 to 12 years old when we owned it, but those are the years youngsters look at the family car very closely!