Sign in to follow this  
chistech

Attire for Awards Banquet

Again, I’m new to this. What is the dress code for the awards banquet?

You will see everything from coats and ties to bib overalls but I would best describe it as "dressy casual".

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Coat and tie used to be the norm, and still is for many, but some are more casual, and others are much more relaxed. Mom used to tell me that if you felt overdressed, you could always remove your tie, and even your jacket (trousers still required).

Wear what makes you comfortable.

Remember that our staff, or your friend will probably be taking a picture of you and your spouse receiving your trophy, possibly for our national ANTIQUE AUTOMOBILE publication, and to post in your local newsletter.

• Like 1

I agree--dress well. Those guys who walk in wearing their oily overalls or surfer shorts and flip-flops just embarrass themselves, the organization, and everyone around them. There's being too cool for the rules and then there's being disrespectful and stupid.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 2

9 hours ago, Marty Roth said:

Coat and tie used to be the norm, and still is for many, but some are more casual, and others are much more relaxed. Mom used to tell me that if you felt overdressed, you could always remove your tie, and even your jacket (trousers still required).

Wear what makes you comfortable.

Remember that our staff, or your friend will probably be taking a picture of you and your spouse receiving your trophy, possibly for our national ANTIQUE AUTOMOBILE publication, and to post in your local newsletter.

I started to give this a thumbs up, but decided I couldn't leave without saying I like it the way it used to be, coat and tie, not only for a banquet, but for church, funerals and all other such occasions.  We've all become too "relaxed".  Had to say that, just couldn't help  myself.  Also noticed how badly I screwed this comment up in typing it this morning, so I had to fix it.