Floor pans in 1951 Buick

51_Buick

I have a 1951 Buick special 2 door, I found some floors on eBay and a web site called "classic 2 current fabrication". Is this a good site or not? I also need some inner rockers, what is a good place to get inner rockers? I'm new to welding in floors and rockers so if you have any tips on that it would be much appreciated.

IMG_5423.JPG

IMG_5425.JPG

40 minutes ago, retirednow said:

I have a trunk pan, but it's for a Super, and won't fit your Special. Sadly, nobody to my knowledge makes these 

Yeah it really does suck, I'll have to patch it with sheet metal. 

I am presently parting a 52 Roadmaster that has a very solid rot free trunk floor pan. Yes as Retirednow points out, it will not fit your car due to being wider for one thing. It might be possible to cut it down into small sections for repair panels in your trunk. Wheel well is solid but might be slightly larger. Not sure. Anyway if you could use it, I would be happy to cut it out as I will soon be scrapping the rest of the carcass. The car had been parked under a car port with water draining down on it just behind the windshield. The car was litterly rusted in half with the frame holding it together. PM me if you have any interest. I would like $125.00 for it. I prefer not to ship.

I am in South Bend, IN

3 hours ago, 51_Buick said:

Yeah it really does suck, I'll have to patch it with sheet metal. 

• Like 2

Milwaukee should have some pretty good sheet metal fabrication shops, even if you look into the HVAC tin knocker shops.

You have enough floor left to measure up the ribs and deflections to make a good template out of cardboard and reproduce it.

I have even seen that kind of thing go the other way. I used to teach an HVAC apprenticeship and contract training for service mechanics. One training job was bending sheet metal ducts and transitions.