1938 SPECIAL RADIO

LAS VEGAS DAVE

Dave,

I am doing a restoration on my 37 myself.  I am an electronic tech and have been working on old electronics for a long time.  I am not offering to do any work for others as my full time job is communications electronics and I refuse to let my job and hobbys compete to much :).  Now for the reason for my posting a reply..,..   Do NOT apply power to your radio unless you know what you are doing.  Old capacitors and vibrators are known to short and/or stick and burn up old transformers in the power supply section of old radios.  The caps and vibrator can be replaced with new components, but the transformers are custom parts and are not available to replace.  If you need one rewound the cost is staggering, so the best option is to not burn it out.  Sorry, I do not have any leads to a restorer, but others here will chime in with that information.  I just wanted to give a heads up to help you avoid a costly error.

Good Luck,

Robin

Edited by 37_Roadmaster_C (see edit history)

On reason the dial might not turn iis that there is a fragile plastic gear behind the dial that warps or breaks. It is a real PITA to replace!  Bobs has,or had, replacements. The older Bob does rario repairs, that is how he got into the parts business.

post-82307-0-93915700-1450104863_thumb.j

I dont know if this attachment will work. First time to use

I agree with Ben. Alan Kriss has done work for me in the past, and I was well satisfied.

He advertises in the Buick Bugle, and I think I have seen his ad in the AACA magazine.

Just my experience.

Gary

I did my '38 Special's radio over the course of the winter last year.  I researched as much as I could, and found schematics, pictorial, and a chart of available modern capacitors and resistors.