66 Toronado: Engine gutless

Guest Twilight Fenrir

Guest Twilight Fenrir

Hello,

I've been working on my '66 Olds Toronado the last couple years. One thing that's always been present, is a lack of power from the engine. As I understand, these cars should peal rubber all day long if you stomp on the gas, but I can't even get my tires to chirp.

I've rebuilt, and tuned the original q-jet. I'm an amateur, but it seemed straightforward with the instructions in the rebuild kit.

I rebuilt the ignition system, replacing rotor and cap, switching to a point-less ignition, new coil, plugs and wires.

I even completely rebuilt my cooling system, more becausr I had to than to resolve the issues...

When I ran a compression test, I had over 150 on every cyl. Though i'm not certain weather this is a good number or not for the stock 425.

Anything else I should look at, or can do?

Thanks

If the engine is properly tuned this car should pull hard. Check for restricted exhaust or problems with the transmission. Is it starting in first gear? It might possibly be a problem with the torque converter. It may not be multiplying torque. The timing chain may be loose or jumped a tooth. Did you check the distributor? Check the vacuum advance and the advance weights in the distributor. Good luck.

I think I'd make sure that when the engine is at #1 TDC that it really is there. To do this, without taking the head off, might be a little tricky, BUT might be easier to do with one of those "snake" video cameras which Harbor Frt has on sale now. I don't have one, but a friend bought one for that particular use, to look inside of cylinders without removing the head.