Please ID this unknown car in Allentown, PA, photo est. date 1910-1913

Guest GeorgeS-oldcar

I have had a look at plenty of cars of this era and have found many that it is not. From a very short era when the car has the beginnings of a torpedo cowl but still has gas side lights - mounted at the front of the cowl, which is not common. Vertical hood louvres so not Oldsmobile. Eight rims bolts and ten hub bolts narrows it down. Wheelbase not that long as the rear doors are cut away. Body looks to be five passenger rather than seven.  Tempting to say Kissel but there are things that don't match. Others I have discounted are Interstate, Chalmers, Mitchell, Stutz and Auburn.

Guest GeorgeS-oldcar

Thank you for the effort. I am just guessing the date range of the photos as the little boy is my grandpa, born 1908. He looks about 4-5 years old to my untrained eye. My greatgrandpa owned some restaurants in Allentown. He had some money, but I think was not wealthy. I have little knowledge of very old cars and am completely clueless! I know Maccar (later Mack) started in Allentown about that time, but I thought they only made trucks.

Guest GeorgeS-oldcar

One family member recalls my grandpa saying his Dad owned a Cadillac - but we don't know when that might have been. Could this be a Cadillac?

11 minutes ago, 1937hd45 said:

Hub caps have an Oldsmobile look to them. Maybe from the 1914 era. Bob

My first thought was the same but Oldsmobiles of that era have 'sloping' louvres and also are 'styled' with mouldings around the doors, and particularly on the cowl.

14 minutes ago, GeorgeS-oldcar said:

One family member recalls my grandpa saying his Dad owned a Cadillac - but we don't know when that might have been. Could this be a Cadillac?