1922 Dodge Bros Tail light

alsfarms

I have just purchased a drum style DB stamped tail light and license plate bracket. I am rather new to Dodge Bros so I ask this question. How is the correct way to mount this tail light to a touring car? The car currently is equipped with wood wheels however, I have a set of restored 24" Houk wire wheels, hubs and caps that will be installed later. I am guessing that with wood wheels the tail light is mounted to the spare tire hanger. When I convert the Dodge to the Houk wire wheels, what is the factory way and location to mount the tail light. 

Oh yes, "Myers" was able to provide all the missing bits and pieces so I can assemble a complete windshield assembly. Thanks for that suggestion.

Regards,

Alan

IMG_20230912_093905971_HDR.jpg.cb30fc0b071d12447d2a4b54bba6a44b.jpgIMG_20230912_093919271_HDR.jpg.6cc3df48f410e23d421c664e2d736a5f.jpg

Edited by alsfarms
Clarity (see edit history)

Here is another question regarding the above pictured tail light license bracket. Does it appear to be correct? I am now doubting that the license plate bracket is correct as directly above the bracket I see holes correct to fit carriage bolts in from the inside?  Can anyone confirm what I have and correctness?

Al

Edited by alsfarms
spelling (see edit history)

This is how the rear lights were mounted on my late '22 touring car with wood spoke wheels when I bought it, Al. I think it is more or less correct. I believe the light with the red and orange lenses was installed by a DB dealer in 1924, when brake lights were first required in California, and I think the "stop" light and the reflector were aftermarket.

back to '22.jpg

Thanks. Your taillight is very much different from my light as shown above. It might be tight, but could you get a picture showing what your taillight is mounted to?  I am guessing that a 1922-23 touring car with wire wheels must have an alternative location to mount the tail /stoplight.

Al

Edited by alsfarms