1957 Special Four Door Hardtop, or at least most of the parts needed to make one.

Angelfish

I bought this car in 2019 as a project that had been started many years ago and then abandoned.  It was straight, rust free and partially disassembled.   Three years later I'm making some real headway on it and that is where I'm going to need some help.  Some parts were missing, some parts from other cars were included, and some things were reassembled incorrectly.

I'm not good at keeping up with a thread so additions will be spotty.  

November 2019:

B0F706AC-A97D-454A-BDCF-DD440B60996D.thumb.jpeg.0a31e878a486a73c9c3c0b0ca831b413.jpeg

• Like 4

1 hour ago, lancemb said:

Holy cow.  Where did you buy that out of?  California?  Did it come with a later 401 engine?

It was manufactured in Kansas City and spent most of it's life in Kansas.  I bought it in Denver but it hadn't been there long. No indication that it lived anywhere other than Kansas. 

In addition to dismantling what appears to have been a perfectly good car, someone rattle canned the entire frame and suspension, linkages, parking brake cable, etc, so I ended up having the frame painted.  The transmission was finished about a week ago.

The engine is the original to the car and has standard pistons so I assume it's still a 364.  It was changed over to the larger 401 valves at some point before I got it.   It was reassembled with lithium grease and was almost seized from the hard grease on the connecting rods.  It took a month of soaking and cleaning in warm ATF to get the rods freed up.   If you look at the engine in the back (not the Jaguar straight 6) the oil filter housing and oil filler caps were the color that is now on the valve covers, it appears the original color is what the valve covers are currently.  The block color was added at the rebuild.  I know Buick engine colors is a popular debate topic.

It came with a trunk full of parts that I am starting to sort through.