63 Brakes losing boost

DaveC6970

Hello,

I have a brake issue I was hoping someone may have some experience/insight with, I searched the forum and my service manual and haven’t had any luck. 

When I apply the brakes on my 63 everything works normally and I initially have plenty of boosted brake. Once slowed the pedal will quickly drop away from my foot and the car begins to roll, so I panic jam the pedal and the car stops again. 

I assumed since I was losing boost it was a vacuum issue so, based on some forum answers, I replaced the vacuum hoses from the manifold to the brake booster and one from the reservoir to booster. This did not help but I’ll keep checking for vacuum leaks. Maybe an internal booster leak? Would a bad check valve on the manifold line cause an issue like this?

Also, I did check for brake fluid leaks and could not find any, but this might be a master cylinder issue? I have zero experience with a bad master cylinder so I wouldn’t know.

Any ideas or advice is appreciated, 

Thanks! Dave

It sounds like a bad master cylinder.  It is leaking internally and I'll bet you find some fluid leaking past the seal where it interfaces with the push rod.  Probably dribbling down the front of the booster can...

• Like 3

12 hours ago, EmTee said:

While you're working on the hydraulics it would be a good time to check the wheel cylinders and replace the brake hoses if you haven't previously.

7 hours ago, telriv said:

IF there is brake fluid in the booster it will HAVE to come off & be rebuilt also along with the bad master cylinder.

Doing this right now. Don't bother choosing between AC Delco Professional, Raybestos, Centric . . . THEY ARE ALL MADE IN CHINA! If Sunsong brand is available, go for it. Lowest price.

There is a warning to straighten and flex hoses prior to install, what?

All components have to conform to SAE and DOT specs. But, I can't help to think brake parts I purchased back in the day, made in USA, are better.