decals for Sun test unit

Old buicks 2

I have a similar question/problem. The control labels on my '68 Buick's instrument panel are printed on thin plastic glued to the metal. Would a screen printer be able to reproduce similar pieces? Would I expect him to die-cut them to size (perimeter and knob and wheel openings) ? If not, I could probably trim them myself with a steady hand. Is there a special adhesive that is best for metal to plastic bonding that won't eat or distort the plastic, or a strong double-sided tape?  

buick 68 dash.jpg

I think most original white lettering like that is screen printed on. It doesn't look like a terribly difficult process. I am working on an ignition switch faceplate that was originally screen. Since I'm a novice and the surface isn't flat, I decided to try a dry transfer/ rub down decal. The print is all that transfers from the sheet to the part, so there is no clear film necessary to hold it all together. These just came in the mail yesterday. I hope they work as good as they look.

KIMG1366.JPG.a9f5706e9b3df7a9320bdbde1768a5aa.JPG

• Like 1

Sign shops are good at that as well as other car tags. I had a reproduction of a don't stick your fingers in the fan adhesive warning. The sign guy asked if I wanted to make a run to sell and get my money back. I said no, just make 3. The other two are safe between the pages of my shop manual.

Don't forget, the root word of exclusive is exclude.

7 hours ago, f.f.jones said:

I have a similar question/problem. The control labels on my '68 Buick's

I can't remember for sure but if those raised areas (the lettering) is supposed to be black take a pink eraser like you used in grade school and spray it with black paint on one of the widest sides and then press the fresh paint against the lettering.  The eraser will have just enough give to coat the raised part but not so much as to get onto the silver.

14 minutes ago, edinmass said:

Paramount Limited will probably have them.