2 Vs 4 cylinder brass era cars.

Richard_D

I'm very new to the brass era scene and despite my searching haven't found thread on this.

I find myself drawn  towards the smaller lighter 2 cylinder cars around 1910 ie. AB Maxwell.

If possible what I'm interested to know is how this type of car compares to a mid teen 4 cyl car ie. Ford T when touring.

Does the lighter weight of the 2 cyl even out the extra power of the 4 on hills or make a difference to top speed?

Are the later cars more reliable or easier to keep running or just stop less?

Any other major difference between the two types of cars?

Interested to hear your experience.

Thanks

• Like 1

I've had a 2-cylinder Buick Model F.  I know several people who have them, and others who have 2-cylinder REOs, which are comparable.  Those cars can keep up with a Model T unless the T driver is in a real hurry.  On HCCA tours for big cars, they do pretty well, and they dominate 1-and 2-cylinder tours.

The smaller twins, like the AB Maxwell, are much weaker.  They perform more like single-cylinder cars, like Cadillacs and Oldsmobiles.  They'll go anywhere, but much slower, especially on hills.  I've never had a small twin like an AB Maxwell, but I've toured with them while driving my singles, and I've ridden in some small Maxwells.  They're very nice cars.  There are also more powerful, larger Maxwell twins that are quite potent, more like the Buicks and REOs.

That said, you ought to talk to Bob Bailey in Maine.  He has an even smaller Maxwell - an A, I think - and he and Liz tour that thing in any terrain and any weather.

• Like 1