58 Chevy fuel problem

Paul Ceresa

,Getting air bubbles in fuel line not related to heat from exhaust. I think fuel is boiling due to low boiling point of rec 90 fuel. Rigged up temporary  fuel tank in front of front bumper to eliminate exhaust heat influence. Changed fuel pump, installed 6 blade fan, redid heads, intake manifold, carb, fuel lines and fuel tank and fuel cap (vented). Any ideas?

Edited by Paul Ceresa
forgot comma (see edit history)

Thank you for your insightful advice. I failed to mention that the 283 runs very well for about 40 minutes then bubbles from the discharge side of the mechanical fuel pump reach the carb and it starts to fall apart. I rigged up a dump valve between the fuel pump discharge and the carb with a 1/4 turn valve and when I bleed the line air comes through and then it runs smooth again. Operating temperature is around 185f as determined by a thermometer radiator cap. When you say the sending unit can you elaborate? I am a relative novice. Thank you. As a side note rec 90 MSDS sheet lists boiling point of 128 f on the low end.( Since gasoline is seasonally and regionally blended )Someone told me to mix one gallon of diesel fuel to eleven gallons of non alcohol fuel, which is what rec 90 is to raise the boiling point of the fuel.

3 hours ago, Paul Ceresa said:

Changed fuel pump, installed 6 blade fan, redid heads, intake manifold, carb, fuel lines and fuel tank and fuel cap (vented). Any ideas?

You did all this for bubbles in the fuel line?

By fuel lines, do you mean the rubber sections, or the steel sections also?

Fuel pump NOS or new production?

• Like 1

Paul, welcome.