Overheating after radiator clean out

Pastorgmc

Recently purchased a nice 1930 Model A. Drove a few times over past month sometimes at high speeds for short distances. Tested radiator contents only to find brown and cloudy. So I drained and put in about 3 gallons of white distilled vinegar and ran engine to clean out. Put in 50/50 antifreeze and took for a drive into town. After about twenty minutes it overheated spraying antifreeze out of the cap and below. I’m new to the Model A so am learning, but wondering about people’s thoughts on what I can do to troubleshoot. Just seems odd because it ran fairly cool with the crappy stuff in it. Has a 5 speed transmission. Capable of 50+ mph.  Thanks!

Did you put some kind of filter on the upper radiator hose to catch any trash that your vinegar treatment might  have dislodged? If not, you may have clogged the radiator even worse than before. Drain it again, back-flush the radiator (preferably out of the car), and see if you can get the trash out of it. After you reassemble it, put a filter in the upper radiator hose (a small women's stocking works) to catch any junk. Check it every time you drive it for the first few drives, flush it again, and repeat for a while until the filter stays clean. I also like the idea of using Evapo-Rust as coolant for a few weeks (with a filter) to really get it clean. A little more expensive than vinegar but harmless to the metals and VERY effective. 

Hope this helps!

• Like 5

Do what Matt said, evapo rust full strength, drive it for a few weeks. It will probably be fine once you use it, as it takes a while for you to push water, a good sign that the evapo will probably cure you issue. It’s a shortcut, but it works 60 percent of the time without pulling everything apart. 

• Like 1