Bumper - Weed brand

Customx12

I'd say 1920's, maybe very early 1930's. The attached advertisement is from 1926.   Appears to be a rear bumper, that sticks out quite far to clear either a trunk rack or a rear mounted spare.

I'm no expert, but you'd need to find someone who wants one, and then for a show car it'd need hundreds of dollars in plating. 

I'd say it's worth $200 as it sits.....but I've been wrong before...the best part about it is it still has the name badge on it, which may increase value in someone's eyes..

weedbumper.jpg

That’s a great advertisement, thanks! It’s in pretty good condition but certainly isn’t show car ready as it is. Still, maybe something someone will want for a rat rod or project they’re working on. I sure am having a hard time finding other examples online so I have a hunch it’s quite rare.

That is what I have on my 1925 master. I will probably have them powder coated like I had the ones on my 1925 Standard. Friend with another 1925 Standard had quoted over $1000 to have them plated. For my Standard I had the front and back Wolverine style bumpers "Chrome Look" (silver paint) on the bars and semi gloss black on the brackets. I believe it cost around $300. To me they look great.DSCF5845.thumb.JPG.b593f04a8230e9f692fe6eb19743472b.JPG

DSCF5847.thumb.JPG.850340858a631da46c7409686f76927d.JPG

Notice that the rear bumper on the Standard is 2 piece for the spare while the WEED bumper on the master is full width.

• Like 1

Re-plating that bumper in my area would be over $1,000.00 cdn per bar plus $200.00 for each clamp and then whatever for the medallion in the middle. Total in US funds to restore that bumper up here to show quality would be about $6,600.