Buick Reference Books---Where are they?

Pomeroy41144

As a reference book author, I read the Buick Bookshelf thread with great interest. I decided to go with a dedicated thread for this topic.

I am a member of the Buick Club of America and I am a member of the Early Ford V-8 Club of America. I own a 1937 Ford. My father had both old Fords and old Buicks when I was a child but by the time we were teens it was all Straight Eight all the time. He had a 1941 Series 90 6P. My brother followed the family tradition and bought a 1941 Buick Series 90 like my father had. I purchased a 1937 Ford like my father had. Both me and my brother used to help my father with his old Series 90. We did not have many books or reference materials. We mostly relied on Buick people we knew --like Pete Fileca (BCA # 65) -- to help us to get it right. We were lacking in the reference book department. And as knowledgeable as my brother likes to present himself, it is evident that he does not know a great deal about his own car (he had no clue about dated window bugs for example).

When I purchased my 1937 Ford I made an effort to purchase as much reference material as I could. Fortunately for me, there is an abundance of material for pre-war Ford automobiles. The Early Ford V-8 Club of America has published a series of Ford Reference books specific to the cars recognized by the club. These books are great--offering excellent photos and tons and tons of useful information for the restorer and the hobbyist/owner. Some are better than others. For example, the 1934 Ford book is exquisitely detailed and informative--the 1938-1939 book is a close second, as is the 1937 Book. The 1932 Ford book is so detailed that it is a two volume issue. The 1940 book is slender and I hear that it is being re-written and expanded. When doing my work on my old Ford, having these reference materials was a tremendous help.