1930 Chrysler 77??

Guest devaE2

Guest devaE2

Hello,

I'm seeking assistance in identifying the auto in the attached picture. I'ts was suggested that the vehicle is a 1930 Cadillac but the folks over at the Cadillac/LaSalle forum think it's a Chrysler.

Background - I work as a tour guide at Scotty's Castle in Death Valley National Park. We are doing a research project on the vehicles that the actual owner of the Castle - Albert Johnson - bought over his lifetime. The woman in the picture is his wife Bessie .

Thanks for any help.

Mike Wehmeyer

National Park Service

Death Valley National Park

post-79504-143138683423_thumb.jpg

Yes I think it is a Cadillac - it is much too big and heavy looking to be a Chrysler from that era. Those brackets keiser mentioned are typical of Cadillac of 1928-'29 but the odd thing is that the wheels are 1930 - note they are the type that has the nuts inside the hubcaps rather than outside.

Guest Harold Phillips

I agree with Steve, I went out and looked at about 28 wheel & capI have, Looks like it could be newer style and while can not read script looks to be right

It must be a 1930 Model 145 or a 1931 Model 151 as those were the coupe models those years, and Scotty was big on Franklins.

More searching indicates this is the 145 coupe Scotty used for the 104 mile low gear run in 1931. See the book "Franklin" by Powell & Chaplin, pages 361 to 364. On page 381 there is an excellent photo of a 145 coupe. Apparently the coupe visor had bracket supports while on all the other bodies the ends of the visor curved downward to the doorpost.

Edited by f147pu
new information (see edit history)

• 1 year later...
Guest Lincoln