1951 Buick Roadmaster

Guest SSPhoto

Guest SSPhoto

I have recently aquired a 1951 Buick Roadmaster. Can anyone tell me what the distinguishing characteristics may be for the Riviera? Im not sure if I have a Roadmaster or a Roadmaster Riviera. I have found some numbers and details from the car. The number 161462?? and Dynaflow 41D. Help please.. I know nothing about antique autos and maybe there is a number one the car that I'm not seeing:rolleyes:

post-76317-143138563551_thumb.jpg

post-76317-143138563556_thumb.jpg

post-76317-143138563559_thumb.jpg

Unless I missed something. My old Cars Price guide only lists a Riviera 4 door sedan in the roadmaster line. It doesn't show a standard roadmaster 4 door sedan. If it's a roadmaster and a 4 door it's a riviera. I'm not an expert though and the standard catalog of American cars didn't denote any differences between a riviera and a regular 4 door in the Roadmaster line for 1951. Hope this helps.

Roadmaster was Buick's top offering, equal to a Cadillac in some ways, and built using the same body as a Cadillac.

The Roadmaster Riviera was a super deluxe Roadmaster on a 4 inch longer wheelbase frame.

This was one of the biggest most luxurious cars you could buy in 1951 and one of the most expensive. They were famous for their soft pillowy ride and smooth action of the straight eight engine and Dynaflow transmission. But if you wanted speed, performance and fast cornering you looked elsewhere.

To put it another way, there are boulevard cars and road cars, the Roadmaster Riviera was king of the boulevard cars.

Buick made 3 lines of cars, the Special, Super and Roadmaster. The Special and Super used the GM B body which they shared with Oldsmobile. The Roadmaster used the C body which they shared with Cadillac. Not many parts will interchange between the Roadmaster and the lesser models.

Hello SSPhoto, congratulations on acquiring the Buick, a fine old car regardless of model ID!