Hello and any reason not to buy this?

bepnewt

Hello, all. I'm new to the forums and hopefully a new owner of a '63 - '65 Riviera soon.

I've been looking for the perfect '63 - '65 for me for a while and I think I found it on eBay in Santa Monica. I'm not expert by far so I'm not sure what to look for in these pictures and the description that would hint at any kind of problem. The only thing that stands out to me is nowhere is it mentioned that this engine is the original engine for the car. Again, I'm no expert, but the engine sure looks like it has newer parts on it than a '63 would have.

Anyway, I am going to call these folks tonight and if you guys can think of anything I should ask them about the vehicle, I'd appreciate it!

Buick : Riviera - eBay (item 180610270268 end time Jan-15-11 11:43:29 PST)

Thanks and I hope I get to join the ranks soon!

-BEP

Bep,

I certainly would not jump into buying any antique car that I knew absolutely nothing about before I did my homework and extensive research on. The internet has a wealth of information available to you at your fingertips. If you want to learn about the 63-65 Riviera's there is no better place than to join the Riviera Owners Association. Our dues are only $30 a year and it is the best your money can buy. Check out our web site: www.rivowners.org

Bob Bonto #277 ROA

Technical Advisor 71-73;)

Hi Bep,

Absolutely agree with Bob. Do your homework first. Establish what your goals and priorities are. Join the ROA (you don't need to own one to join!) and use the experts here. They love to talk Rivi.

I bought my car after spending years researching Rivi's and narrowing down what I wanted. I got the best that my budget would allow.