Sales advice sought - 1986 Riviera

Guest GeneS

Guest GeneS

Hello. I need to sell my mother's 1986 Riviera, and need help pricing it. I can find very few other 86's online and the prices vary widely. The NADA prices are low of $3307, average of $4777, and high of $7140. I found a beat-up looking 86 online for only $2500 and a nice looking one for $4750. Can you please help me?

The car is in beautiful condition (see some photos in the members gallery). It has 57,804 miles on it. My mother was the second owner; I am the third. From the photos you can see the exterior and interior are in wonderful condition, so it looks above average to me. I have little experience selling cars, and no experience selling a car in good condition, and want to price it fairly.

My mechanic has kept it tuned and running well since my mother bought it in 1993, so there are no mechanical problems that I know of. Because it was my mother's transportation I never let it hiccup without getting it checked, and it had regular maintenance. The only problems I know of are the following:

• The radio is poor. I cannot tell if it is just a ground wire or worse. It plays clearly for a few minutes then turns to static, especially on AM. Sometimes it will suddenly become clear again, but usually not. Usually it is bad enough I just turn it off. I had my mechanic look for the problem years ago but he could not find it. Since my mother did not want the radio on while she drove I did not want to spend more money to have it fixed.