How to adjust Steering box slack or lag... Buick 1956 Riviera 46R

MrY

Hi I have an old 1956 Buick 46R with power steering box

but there is a terrible about 4-5 inch slack in the steering wheel if the car is park and I wiggle it left and right without the pit man arm get engaged and move. It's no fun driving the car on the freeway cause I end up sitting and wiggling steering wheel left and right to keep the car  go straight and it get tiresome ......

The steering rag joint has been replace and the next to tackle is the steering box I guess.

I see there is a lock nut with a flat head screw in the middle of the X on the steering box top

I guess this is for adjusting it but I have never done this before on any car

Can anyone give me some hints on what to do ?

Loosening the lock nut and Turning it down make it tighter ?

I guess I want the gears to come closer to remove any gap or slack.....

Please advice before I try or mess up something

See picture of my steering box and locknut and screw.

thx

IMG_5201.jpg

On many steering boxes that is the way to take the play out by turning the screw down until the play is gone.

The problem is that if you take out all the play, you end up with a bind when you turn the wheel and get to the point where there is less wear in the gears.

You have to accept a happy medium between play and bind.

Another problem you may have, is that your steering box may not be centered.

I am not a Buick guy, Wait for a Buick P.S. expert to advise you.

Edited by Roger Walling (see edit history)