1942 BUICK STARTER ISSUE

ILIKECARS53

Hi All,  It has been awhile.  My first Buick project in the new garage.  Will have to send some updated pics of the garage.  But getting back to the issue with the Buick. It is a 1942 Buick Limited with the 320 engine. It has the dual carb setup with Carter WCD's front and back. The problem has been going on for about 2 years, but just getting to it now since I have a very nice place to work.    When I would try to start the car the starter would just click.  I thought it was the battery, but that did not solve the problem.  Then I thought it was the vacuum switch in the carb. I bypassed the switch by touching the wires together, still nothing.  Pulled the starter and cleaned the contacts of the solenoid and checked the gap, still nothing.   Then I tried to start manually by touching the contacts  and  it started right up. This is how I have been moving the car around for the past 2 years.  It is a little awkward.  This past week I pulled the starter again and rechecked everything and again cleaned the contacts.  Pulled the vacuum switch and cleaned it.  Still to no avail. I left the cover off the solenoid and touched the contacts  and  it started right up.   Am I missing something.  What else could I check.   Thanks  Jim

Download the 1942 Buick shop manual for free. All of it section by section.

Or click the pdf link to pay.

http://www.oldcarmanualproject.com/manuals/Buick/1942/Shop Manual/

It is very comprehensive and has information that can be used with all straight 8’s.

It has more information than was included in older “Shop Manuals” before 1942

Reads like an electrical problem. Are cables grounded?

http://www.oldcarmanualproject.com/manuals/Buick/1942/Shop Manual/13 Electrical System/index1.html

Edited by 1939_Buick (see edit history)
  • Like 1