Catastrophe or not ?

Brooklyn Beer

For the past week I have been working on the shocks and shock links on my recently acquired 31 Franklin. Today it was warm enough to get out in the garage where the Franklin is sitting on the lift and remove the passenger side shock so I could change the oil and see about tuning it. Since the car arrived it has had a "lean" to the passenger side so was hoping that maybe it could be in the shock link itself. Remember i am new to the car.  Well upon removing the shock I saw the problem of my lean right away. The top leaf spring behind the shock is broken in half. The break is so clean I am pretty sure it happened in transport when the driver drove off a ramp when shifting cars around. It is in a spot that unless you pulled a tire or put on a lift it would be very hard to see. Doubt PlyCar will care and just blow me off.  So i ask, do I have to change that entire stacked assembly or can I just change the top leaf?  And where on earth am I going to find it?

20191218_155103(0).jpg

I have no words of advice about the spring, but sheesh - you're in Texas - how warm do you need it to get in your barn down there??? LOL

It's been a steady 15° F here in Michigan today, so rather than my barn I went to the Gilmore Car Museum to work on one of the cars there, but will be back in my barn tomorrow when it's meant to be about 33°F.

😉

Roger

Edited by theKiwi
Fixed my own name! (see edit history)

Chris,

It can be replaced, or, welded. However, DO NOT accept a rusted spring as a replacement. It will break in a line through the area of the deepest rust pits - much like your check book checks are weakened and tear easily at the perforations.  

Find a truck spring/suspension shop. They should be able to weld the break, grind it flush, arc it back to spec (the Club website drawing file has the measurements) and have the large ovens to re-temper it.