Need advice on getting valve cover off

All:

As I said in an earlier thread, the guy in northern CA who overhauled the engine went on the cheap and used gray goo rather than real gaskets. :mad: This stuff does not harden but it is like the parts are glued together. Unfortunately the valve cover is down very solid and I can't get it removed without destroying it. I have tried chisels, screwdrivers, pry bars. I cannot get under the cover lip at all to get any force on it. I also tried a pry bar inside the oil fill port but it became obvious real fast that it would bend and destroy the cover beyond all recognition. Pity as well since this part he actually repainted and put on the red fireball 8 decal.

Any ideas? I am stumped here. :confused:

Cheers, Dave

I am far from an expert, but if there is any way you can slip a strong wire, like piano wire between the valve cover and head, and this stuff is somewhat movable, then rig a sort of large coping saw so it can be slid along the cover. If you can determine exactly what the stuff is, perhaps some chemical can be found to disolve it a bit at a time. Keep us innnformed. Good luck.

John

Have you taken a hard rubber mallet, and smacked it at the corners where the strength is? I recall my father when he was service manager for Buick doing such.

He would smack one corner, then jump to the other corner, I'm not making any promises, but if you haven't tried, it's worth a try.

I wish you well,

Dale in Indy

x2 on the mallet, you can also use a 5 lb. sledgehammer to hit a piece of 2x4 lumber placed parallel with the side of the cover to keep from denting/marking up the cover. I don't like prying with anything, too easy to deform the cover.

Dave,

When I pulled mine for the first time, it had a lot of RTV / Permatex (?) holding it down too.