metal pits

Guest vacabill

Guest vacabill

sorry for asking all these questions, but I am new at this, as I go along on the restoration, I keep getting into things I know nothing about

I have a 32 olds Patrician and it has metal trim around the inside of the windows that is woodgrained, I took all the old paint off and and the rust that was underneath I removed by electrolysis, and noticed quite a bit of pitting, nothing through the metal, but enough to make a rough surface, so before I paint it and woodgrain it, what is the best way to fill the pits, other than that the metal is good and strong

[ATTACH=CONFIG]182898[/ATTACH]

Guest vacabill
Primer and glazing putty should be all you need. Sand with 240, then 400 wet or dry. Touch up any marks you missed the first time. When it is quite smooth, primer again, let dry, sand with 400 and it's ready to paint.

There's a lot of different primers out there, any particular primer that i should use? the pitting is not all over, its just in a couple of spots maybe 2-3" at most on all the window trim pieces. is there a differrent primer for the putty and the bare metal or is there one that can be used on both.

So I prime all the bare metal first, apply putty, sand, touch up with putty(if needed) prime and then sand.

Edited by vacabill (see edit history)

I've had very good results by just using Krylon primer( gray or red) from a can. Krylon seems to have a lacquer base so it's compatible with the lacquer putties. This is an easy ,convenient and inexpensive method for smaller areas or parts. For small parts like garnish mouldings you can reprime with the Krylon and finish paint over it. Try to buy Krylon from an industrial dealer as the commercial line still has the conventional nozzle not the DIY type on the consumer cans. I've even painted parts like horns and such with Krylon that have lasted over 16 years and still look new!.