63 401 lifters

petelempert

My 63 with a 401 had been sitting for about 12 years when I got it. About a year has passed and I got it to run pretty good now but still has one maybe two noisy lifters. Tried all sorts of oils and potions...got better... but I've still got enough noise that it bugs me. It's the ticking...sounds vaguely diesel. Everything else...compression etc. on the engine is good with fairly low mileage (82K). I've never replaced lifters with the non-adjustable Buick style valve rails. Someday, I'll rebuild the whole engine but I'm wondering if I should try to replace all the lifters now. I don't know what I'll find when I open the thing up. The service manual makes it sound easy. I'd say my skills are good, but I'm not a professional mechanic. Anybody out there replaced lifters lately? Any tips, hints, cautions before I start? Thx PRL

Guest rlbleeker

Standard practice is to replace both the cam and lifters. And if your there anyway the timing set is a good plan. That requires stripping both the top and front of the engine including the radiator. Quite a bit of time and a few $$ too. Unless it was really bad, I'd listen to it click until your ready to do the whole thing.

I agree with Jim et al when they say to leave it alone until something major NEEDS to be done. Try adding a can of Sea Foam engine cleaner to the crankcase and see if the lifter noise isn't caused by a small dirt particle blocking a bleed hole or something.

(I'd tell you to use a quart of AT fluid but all the purist scoff at me when I suggest that.)

I started my 64 after having let it set for 6 months and man did it have a clatter, sounded like a wrist pin or piston slapping back and forth. I let it run for a while, poured a pint or so of AT fluid in with the oil, and pretty soon it quieted down. Coincidence or cure????? I'll never really know.

Ed

I guess I am of the other opinion. I took my lifters out because they were driving me crazy with the tapity tap tap.