Build site yields small automobile "treasure"....

keiser31

Some of you know that I used to draw plans for a living. Well, I am retired now, but a friend's home burned down last winter so I am helping him out. I drew the plans for his home and since help of the builder sort is difficult to find here, I decided to help him build the home, too. The original site was for a gas station. The home that was on the site was so bad that it was actually a blessing that the house burned. Anyway....as I was helping today, I saw a round object in the dirt and kicked it. It popped out of the dirt and much to my surprise, I found that it was a crank hole cover! This find gives me the opportunity to show you the residence AND the old car "treasure". Here are some photos....

Picture 9234.jpg

Picture 27547.jpg

Picture 27826.jpg

Picture 27894.jpg

Picture 27895.jpg

Edited by keiser31 (see edit history)
  • Like 1

He said it was a Crank Cover.........so my thinking is it covered the Hand Crank they had back in the early days to start the engine. You could cover the hole on the front of the car if it also had a battery and starter, uncover if the battery was dead or there was no starter?

• Like 1