1937 Chrysler Royal

Sean, Orangeville

I picked up an a 1937 Royal.  It was a barn find.  No holes in body and everything intact.  Problem is that the previous owner filled engine with Hydraulic fluid to keep from seizing.  I put new plugs in.  Have to set the correct gap yet.  But how do I know if I have the right wires from distributor to the plugs.  The firing order is clearly visible on the head, so I have that.  Not sure which wire is the right starting point on the distributor.

Also, I know the brake master cylinder is shot.  I want to convert to a dual reservoir system for safety.  Any recommendations on make or places to purchase?

Much appreciated.

Sean

I would suggest rebuilding the original master cylinder. It was sufficient for many years and will be again. Putting in a dual reservoir master cylinder will not make things safer. Chrysler engineering was the best when your car was built.

Edited by keiser31 (see edit history)
  • Like 2

I have been driving for 55 years. I have never had, or heard of, a catastrophic master cylinder failure. Like disc brakes and 12 volt systems, we have been told that they are better, so many times, that it has become "fact".

Be sure to get all of that hydraulic fluid out. I'm sure a little bit won't hurt. Add motor oil and change it after you get it running.

Bring number one piston up to TDC on the compression stroke. You can tell by holding your thumb in the plug hole and feeling the compression pop it off. Take off the distributor cap. The terminal that the rotor is pointing at is the number one terminal. Wire the rest in order according to direction of rotation

• Like 4

The usual advice on long-stored vehicles is to remove the sump and clean it out. Oils of the past turned to sludge and left muck everywhere in the engine, including filling the bottom of the sump. Also ensure the oil pump pick-up filter is clean. Use a 5W or 10W-30 or -40 oil.