1954 Dynaflow Transmission

Bill Meginley

I am new to Buick and just got a 1954 Buick Century with a 322 Nailhead and a DynaFlow transmission. 

The car runs drives and stops but I will be looking to have the dynaflow rebuilt soon since the 200r4 conversion is kind of expensive to weld in the 4 link and do away with the torque tube. 

Anyone have a transmission mechanic in the North Carolina region that can help rebuild when needed. 

1 hour ago, Rusty_OToole said:

What is the matter with it? They are a simple trans, normally they start off in high and don't shift unless you select low manually. Sometimes a fluid and filter change is all they need.

I am new to Dynaflow transmissions and have had little luck until tonight from my Buick group finding a tech.

I does do exactly as you mentioned.

If I manually shift her it can use both gears but if I just put her in drive it starts off like its already in 2nd gear and no shift feeling happens. Based on what you say that is normal

• Like 2

That is normal!      Read the owner's manual. Do not shift from L to D in normal driving. Just leave it in D. It does not shift a gear set, but the vanes in the torque converter move to change ratios continuously. And you thought CVTs were new technology!

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

1 hour ago, Bill Meginley said:

I am new to Dynaflow transmissions and have had little luck until tonight from my Buick group finding a tech.

I does do exactly as you mentioned.

If I manually shift her it can use both gears but if I just put her in drive it starts off like its already in 2nd gear and no shift feeling happens. Based on what you say that is normal

That is the Dynaflow way. It does not shift.  Just smooth acceleration. Google search the Dynaflow and see what an engineering marvel it was for the time. 

• Like 1