New To This Forum

Eddie-O

Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum and the new owner of a 41 Buick Sedanette. I have a few questions I'd like to ask and forgive me if they sound like a novice question, but I am a novice when it comes to this car. I do own another newer classic (not as old) corvette and was a mechanic for g.m. for twenty five years but never on a car this old. There's not much I can't handle on this car mechanicly but the issues I have relate to all the fluids. I have the 41 GM shop manual, but all the fluids listed are by GM 's consumer names and part # and don't list weight or viscosity. Could anyone tell me the correct fluids for:

Rear Axle- is it still 90 weight gear oil?

3Speed Manual Trans. fluid

Brake Fluid DOT #

Engine oil- I plan on using straight 20weight in straight 8 w/ dual carbs.

I know this sounds stupid and I feel stupid asking for such a basic issue, but all the manual says is use GM or Buick " Super Dupper "or some other long discontinued type of name for their fluid. Please don't laugh too hard over this question, but I feel in love with the car the day I saw it and I don't want to make any mistakes on such a beautiful car. I'll probably have a ton of other questions as I get more into this car, but for now the basics are my main concern.

Thank's in advance to anyone who can stop laughing long enough to answer.

All the best

Ed

• Like 2

Welcome to the AACA Discussion Forum. I would also agree that you will find plenty of help in the Pre-War Buick Forum if you scroll down there.

Based on my experience with a 1937 Buick, I would recommend that the best option for the Transmission and the Rear End would be the following: https://www.oreillyauto.com/shop/b/chemicals---fluids-16461/maintenance-chemicals-16867/grease---lube-16582/gear-oil---additives-16905/gear-oil---140w-20063/587d6374459f