65 Riv hide away headlights

Desmc14

Look in the Riview for parts vendors. The first thing you need is a Service Manual. Do some research and contact the Tech. Advisors for specific info. Check and see if there is a ROA member in your area with a 65 and contact him/her - ask questions. There is a lot to learn - I have been restoring 63-65 Rivs for 25 years plus and still learning. There are a few sellers on Ebay that sell parts you will need and are less then honorable - be carefull ! If I can answer specific questions please email me at rivsrus1@cox.net Have fun !

Yes, I believe I've seen the value already. My Dad has had this car since 1976. But as he aged, he couldn't do much with it and as much as I would have liked to, distance and time prevented me from doing much. Other than needing new paint, a tune up and some minor repairs, (such as the headlight covers, gas tank rotting from inside, exhaust system rusted through from lack of use) this car is in fabulous shape. Dad only put about 1,500 miles per year on it when he did drive it.

Thanks again!

Hi Bob,

One of the benefits of joining the ROA is access to the technical advisors which serve the members. In regard to your clamshell headlights, you will not find much in the Service Manual regarding this system and what is in there is misleading. Buick, after many short Service Bulletins, eventually published a comprehensive 28 page Service Bulletin which covers every aspect of the hideaway headlight system. It is critical to understand how the different parts of the system interact, mechanical/electrical, to do a thorough job. This Bulletin is available to you, for the cost of postage, as a member of the ROA, as is my expertise. I can tell you anything you would like to know regarding the system short of whether to wear boxers or briefs while servicing it. Hope to hear from you soon!

Tom Mooney ROA #56

• 2 weeks later...