1955 Buick with 264 Nailhead Oil Pan Removal

MStuartk

First of all, I am not a mechanic.  I recently acquired a 1955 Buick Special 2 door that had been sitting for about 17 years and it is appears to be in decent condition.  After driving it around my community a little while, I suddenly started hearing what appeared to be ramped up lifter noise.  Note: I had previously changed the oil and filter.  After some research, one source told me that if I removed the valve covers I might possibly find that there is possible a bunch of gunk around the area of the lifters, and that this might be blocking the proper amount of oil that is needed for the engine.  Yet, they also said that if I attempted to clean up this stuff, that I should also plan on dropping the oil pan and cleaning after cleaning the lifter area, but before running the engine. 

When I researched "removing the oil pan" I read that several other components also had to be removed to do this.  I have removed oil pans before but the process only required me to just simply remove the oil pan.  My immediate question is: is it possible to remove and clean the oil pan without removing a bunch of other things, as I am afraid that I some of the things mentioned that needs removing is above my knowledge base?  Also, I would really appreciate any advice to the original issue of the possible causes of sudden lifter noise.   

What you are hearing may not be a lifter issue at all. It is likely sludge buildup in the oil pan clogging the oil pump pickup screen causing the pump to starve for oil.

After just sitting for many years sludge forms. Just draining and changing the oil is not good enough.

In my opinion cleaning the pan is cheap insurance. Oil starvation can destroy the bearings and just about everything else.

Dropping the pan probably involves removing the crossover exhaust pipe and maybe the stabilizer bar. If you have the service manual, just follow the directions and you'll be OK.