Window Repair or Replacement

Shootey

I have a major crack in a rear door window on my 1941 Buick Estate Wagon. I need to either remove and replace the window or stabilize it. The car has all original wood and glass. The doors have never been apart. 

I’m afraid to disassemble the door to get the glass out. Should I be?  If the answer is yes, could I use silicone or other product to stabilize the crack so it wouldn’t get worse. The window will roll up and down ok as is and I probably won’t do that much. But it would be good to bond the glass pieces together if I don’t replace the entire window. 

I went to Woodies on the Wharf in Santa Cruz yesterday. It was great as usual. 170 plus cars. 

I have no first hand experience with that exact body but I would be surprised if the glass can not be removed. It was most likely installed after the door frame was assembled. If you remove the inside panel and probably some trim, you should probably be able to remove the regulator and window glass.

I have replaced MANY windows on woodies I have worked on in the past and currently. It all depends on your comfort level and working with your car. I consider window replacement to be a must (modern safety glass throughout) and is not a big deal. You tecnhically don't even need to pull the door off its hinges, but I always do anyway. 

It simply removing the door handle and window crank, unscrewing the ash borders, and unscrewing the plywood panel. It is all pretty easy stuff. I don't know why someone WOULD NOT replace a window. Heck, if you are concerned about it, I would bet that any auto glass automotive shop would be willing to install it for you, as it is pretty easy.