‘32 Buick 57S

valk

A good friend of mine has a magnificent ‘32 57S for sale with an interesting history. Bought by his father over 40 years ago, it was maticulously restored to concours condition over 30 years, now a total restoration with a few hundred miles on it, maybe.  It has been stored and not driven for a couple years, hence the yellowed tires and dusty body. I would be very surprised if there was a better one on earth. Last pic shows a reflection in the paint. What do you think it’s worth? 

50004B25-DD6A-4385-A861-BBC3474C90F4.jpeg

992D1812-4AEA-443D-A0B4-34432354EAB3.jpeg

7B174B34-75E2-4DA9-80F7-28AC981787E7.jpeg

3D87D419-1B77-4253-A236-3C93D68FB431.jpeg

• Like 2

I am new to the Pre War Buick stuff so I would not be the one to ask from the collector value. I have always valued vehicles first by price paid divided by potential miles driven. This is where the collector value comes in because some of the best restored vehicles are not driven much and those that buy them certainly don't plan on driving the wheels off.

My Buick is no where near the quality restoration as this 57 but I plan on driving the wheels off mine. Some buy new 100k cars and drive them 20k miles then sell them for half. That's $2.50 a mile. I plan on getting my investment out by miles driven. If i get 30k miles out of mine and junk it for $0 I'll be fine. If someone buys it , it will all be gravy.

Back to the 57. I think folks are going to have to just start driving them and getting that value. Then after getting about half the investment money in miles you don't feel so bad about selling in today's softer market. Hopefully by the time you rack up 40k miles on it the market will be stronger. Best of luck. Sorry I did not have a number value.

• Like 1