51 Lincoln crate engine options

Hotrodlinkin

I’m buying a 51 cosmopolitan in a few days. The original flat head is still in it but on its last leg. I’d like to give it some life, power, & growl. Really bring it to life. What crate could I get with the least modification? I’m pretty new to this so go easy on me....

Although this is a restoration of original equipment and features forum, I would recommend perhaps a 1952-'57 Lincoln OHV V8 which were mated to Hydra-Matic like in your Cosmopolitan through the 1954 model year.  You would have to determine if bell-housing bolt patterns are the same as the 1955-'57 Lincoln Turbo-Drive, which might be possible.  That would give you the option of the 368 ci engine.   I wouldn't rule out the original flathead, they are a great, rugged engine, were used in the Ford F-7 and F-8 trucks of the same period,  Rebuilt kits are available.  Whatever you decide, avoid the SBC at all costs!

2 hours ago, Hotrodlinkin said:

What crate could I get with the least modification?

None of them.

Anything other than a stock replacement will require modifications and fabrication. Custom linkages, custom mounts, larger radiator, different exhaust, different trans or adapter, etc, etc. Keep in mind that you are starting with a car that isn't popular, so there aren't any "bolt-in" kits for this.

This is not to say that you should or shouldn't do it, that's entirely your call. My point is that most people who haven't done this before think it goes just like on the TV shows where they get the car completely rebuilt in a week. Hint: "reality" TV isn't real. If you lack the skills and facilities and tools to fabricate parts and make stuff work, then you'll be paying a shop to complete it. Again, a project like this can be a fantastic learning experience, but it will require time, money, space, and fabrication skills. Do this with your eyes open.

• Like 4
  • Thanks 2