'90 idle too high

Jim

I have been driving a '90 for the winter that sat for about 3 years. The idle is about 1400 RPMs in park. I don't remember if I had this problem when I was using the car 3 years ago but suspect not.

Very good vacuum.

Changed MAS

Changed  IAC.

Changed EGR. ( thought this was going to correct the problem as there was no gasket there but replaced EGR and a gasket, still high idle. )

No codes.

I may change today the TPS but am not hopeful.

( it is nice to have lots of parts cars. :)  )

Any suggestions?

Jim

This subject seems to be coming up fairly regularly now but the solutions seem to be all over the place. Can you reduce the idle by overriding the IAC? My '89 that became the parts car would do that after long storage too. I could force it lower, and it would stay there, but would possibly do it again after a restart. I never pursued it very hard after that because it wasn't being driven. Check the TPS in diagnostics to see what it is now.

Ronnie,

You may have hit the nail on the head with your link.

I do have too high power steering pressure. When I drove the car a few years ago the steering was too easy. At that time I was worried I might blow a hose or seal or something but nothing ever went wrong so I left it. The steering is still way easier than any other Reatta I have ever driven.

Padgett, Thanks for the EDxx settings. I have not looked at how to get them for a long time but will refresh my learning and look at them but I think first I will look at the power steering situation and see why my pressure is too high causing the steering to be too easy and probably the cause of my high idle.

Thanks everyone.

Jim

Follow up 15 minutes later.