1931 fluid recommendations- oil, trans oil, differential, coolant, etc?

cjmarzoli

I recently purchased a 1931 8-67 Sedan.  I am new to ownership of 1930's vintage cars.   Car has sat for many years and most of the fluids should be changed.  Any suggestions as to what types of fluids should be used for:  motor oil, radiator coolant, transmission oil, rear axle lube?  Better to use "standard" green antifreeze or "extended life" green, or something else? thank you.

If the motor was mostly run on non-detergent motor oil and has lots of oil sludge buildup, a detergent type motor oil may release a tidal wave of junk into your oil. So if you go with a detergent oil, id plan on doing ANOTHER oil change soon to clean everything out. Id use just a cheap oil first for your "wash" then refill with a good "hot rod" or "classic car" oil like Valvoline VR1 which has more zinc and moly. 10w-30 should be good barring other mechanical issues. I personally run synthetic 5w-30 in a low mileage '37 Special.

For the transmission, id seek an oil with GL-4 specs. GL4 is safer for yellow metals which many older trans have. GL5 or GL6 may harm yellow metals. Napa has a StaLube oil which is GL4. This is also what i use in my differential because there are two thin brass shims in there. Im not sure about your diff.

For rad fluid, i chose to go with the pet friendly propylen glycol style for i have pets, the cooling system is not a closed system and i prefer it for when it has to be changed and it inevitably gets everywhere. Otherwise theres no problem with the standard green. Id do some sort of coolant cleaner flush with CLR or stuff from auto parts store.

James,C

If you are just buying the car that has set for years, then I would pull the oil pan and inspect and clean all of the junk in the pan.  You can then use any oil that you like.  New oil will not harm the engine or bearings.  The worst oil today is better than the best oil "in the day".